How To: Cloth Diaper Safe Detergent

Cloth Diaper Safe Laundry Detergent

I’ve mentioned before on here and on twitter, and via instagram that I cloth diaper Jazz. Today, I want to share how I save even more money on my diapering expenses by using a homemade laundry detergent. Since using this recipe I found from Fresh Idea Mama I have not had any issue with my cloth diapers (clothes for that matter too) coming out clean and fresh smelling. All I do is dump the ingredients into a large mouth mason jar, close the lid, shake it up, and use 1 tablespoon per cloth diaper load. I up it to 2 tablespoons for my regular laundry loads. You can add a few drops of essential oils if you would like. I use whatever I have on hand, but lately I’ve been loving lemony scents. I currently have a batch of laundry detergent with a lemon, eucalyptus scent. The mason jar I use for storage is large enough to make a double batch.

7 thoughts on “How To: Cloth Diaper Safe Detergent

    • I use only a tablespoon in my he front loader (2 tbsp for regular full size loads) and have never had an issue with it. My machine is secondhand and well past any warranties. However, from my research I haven’t found any reason why this formula would be a problem.

    • I have dealt with ammonia, but it was after 18 months of cloth diapering we also switched water types, so that had a hand in it. In addition to really dealing with large amounts of toddler pee.

      I’ve only stripped my diapers twice. It was six months apart from each other. I did it with a 1/4 cup hydrogen peroxide, and few hot rinses.

Leave a Reply

